ClickCease

What to expect from Meta Connect?

VR Expert - Meta Connect - 2022

This year’s Meta Connect developer XR conference will be live-streamed on October 11th and can be viewed on the Reality Labs Facebook page. At the Connect event, we will get official details on Meta Quest Pro, what innovative technologies Meta is working on, and further updates on their metaverse: Horizon Worlds.

In this article, we will go through:

  • When is the Meta Connect conference?
  • How to watch Meta Connect?
  • Meta Quest Pro reveal
  • Other AR and VR headsets
  • Technologies Reality Labs are tinkering with
  • Details on Horizon Worlds
  • Conclusion

When is the Meta Connect conference?

This year’s Meta Connect XR conference will take place on October 11th at the following times 1 pm ET / 10 am PT / 7 pm CET.

Here is a breakdown of the specific times:

  • Los Angeles, PDT (UTC-7), 11:00
  • New York City, EDT (UTC-4), 14:00
  • Rio de Janeiro, BRT (UTC-3), 15:00
  • London, BST (UTC+1), 19:00
  • Lagos, WAT (UTC+1), 19:00
  • Cape Town, SAST (UTC+2), 20:00
  • Berlin, CEST (UTC+2), 20:00
  • Amsterdam, CEST (UTC+2), 20:00
  • Doha, AST (UTC+3), 21:00
  • Mumbai, IST (UTC+5:30), 23:30
  • Beijing, CST (UTC+8), 02:00
  • Tokyo, JST (UTC+9), 03:00
  • Sydney, AEST (UTC+10), 04:00

How to watch Meta Connect?

Like last year’s Meta Connect event, the XR developer Connect conference will once again be online to the benefit of people interested in participating. Livestreamed keynotes and sessions will show “the building of the metaverse and the future of augmented and virtual reality” and can be viewed on the Reality Labs Facebook page.

Meta Quest Pro reveal

As confirmed on Joe Rogan’s podcast by Mark Zuckerberg, the headset formerly known as Project Cambria, now officially named Meta Quest Pro, will be announced at the Connect conference. Similarly, we should expect further details of its features, design, shipping date, and price.

VR Expert - Meta Cambria VR headset

Other AR and VR headsets

It is doubtful that any other headsets will be alluded to or announced, despite the impressive hardware roadmap Meta has for their virtual and augmented reality products.

Technologies Reality Labs are tinkering with

What we should expect at Meta Connect this year is live-streamed developer sessions and keynotes covering innovative prototypes and their mixed reality technologies. One is Holocake 2, featuring a combined lens solution of pancake VR optics with a holographic waveguide for superior mixed reality results.

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by Mark Zuckerberg (@zuck)

Details on Horizon Worlds

Meta’s ultimate goal is building and realizing the metaverse. Because of this, we are likely to see a more elaborate plan on their Horizon platforms. Horizon Worlds was announced and released in Beta in December 2021. It is a social VR platform for people to connect as virtual avatars.

In August of this year, Mark Zuckerberg teased that Horizon Worlds would get a graphical improvement of their avatars, making them more realistic. This further coincides with the face and eye tracking capabilities expected on the upcoming Meta Quest Pro headset.

Conclusion

At this year’s Meta Connect conference, online attendees can expect to see updates on Meta Quest Pro (former Project Cambria), developer sessions on Reality Labs’ innovative mixed reality technologies, and further details on Meta’s Horizon VR platforms. The conference will be live-streamed on October 11th at 1 pm ET / 10 am PT / 7 pm CET.

Discussion

Leave a Reply

Close Menu
Sie befinden sich jetzt auf der VR Expert Business Seite in der Region International
×
×

Basket